Diversity and Community Engagement
The University of Mississippi

Bias Education and Response Team Members


The Co-chairs ensure that the process runs smoothly from start to finish. The Co-Chairs are positioned to understand the tensions of navigating these incidents and leverage their relationships to delegate tasks and equip the other Team members with resources. Co-chairs will be (1) senior-level leader from the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement and (1) faculty member.


Roger Davis Jr., Inclusive Excellence and Engagement Director

Faculty Representative – Carrie Smith, Associate Professor of Psychology


Executive Team

The executive team members liaise between the affected parties and the Co-chairs, connect involved parties to campus resources, and develop educational resources. Executive Team members are also responsible for drafting follow-up reports of bias incident response processes and their outcomes. Conduct, UPD, and EORC representatives will determine jurisdiction and initiate investigation of alleged or potential violations of policy and/or law if warranted. General Counsel will provide legal advice if warranted. 


Shawnboda Mead, Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Community Engagement

Roger Davis Jr. and Carrie Smith, Team Co-Chairs

David Whitcomb, Office of the General Counsel

Tracy Murry, Director of Conflict Resolution and Student Conduct

Kimberly DeVries, Director Equal Opportunity and Regulatory Compliance