Diversity and Community Engagement
The University of Mississippi

Council for Community Engagement

The Council on Community Engagement (CoCE) has broad responsibility for advancing community-engaged research, learning, and service and engaged scholarship for the University of Mississippi (UM) on all its campuses and the University of Mississippi Medical Center. CoCE fulfills its purpose by recommending improvements in systems, structures, and support for community engagement and engaged scholarship, including: recognizing and rewarding the community-engaged activities of University faculty, staff, students, and collaborative partners; supporting the development of sustained collaborative partnerships between University scholars and the public and private sectors; developing systems to track and assess community engagement and engaged scholarship; and ensuring that community-engaged research, learning, and service and engaged scholarship are recognized and aligned with the University’s vision, mission, and strategic priorities. Members of CoCE represent different Colleges and Schools, departments, and other institutions on campus. UM’s mission is to transform lives, communities, and the world by providing opportunities for the people of Mississippi and beyond through excellence in learning, discovery, healthcare, and engagement.

Council Representatives for 2021-2022:

  • Katie Busby, Director, Institutional Research, Effectiveness, & Planning (Acad Affairs)
  • Annie Cafer, Sociology and Anthropology (College of Liberal  Arts)
  • Tammy Dempsey, Director, UMMC – Community Engagement & Service Learning (UMMC)
  • Allison Ford-Wade, Health, Exercise Science, and Recreation Management (School of Applied Sciences)
  • Laruen Fortenberry, Lucky Day (VC for Student Affairs)
  • Jordan Hughes, Civil Legal Clinic (School of Law)
  • Melissa Jones, Trent Lott Leadership Institute 
  • Laura Martin, McLean Institute 
  • Tyrus McCarty, Department of Mechanical Engineering (School of Engineering)
  • Kendall McDonald, Office of Sustainability (Division of Administration and Finance)
  • Avery McNeece, Center for Community Engagement (Division of Diversity and Community Engagement)
  • Sarah Moses, Religion (College of Liberal Arts)
  • Jean Robinson, Office of International Programs 
  • Jennifer Saxton, Athletics Student Development (Athletics)
  • Cade Smith, AVC, Division for Diversity and Community Engagement
  • Castel Sweet, Director, Center for Community Engagement ( Divisions for Diversity and Community Engagement)
  • Jocelyn Tipton, Assistant Dean, Library 
  • Kristene Willett, Chair, BioMolecular Sciences (School of Pharmacy)